University of Minnesota
Department of English
612-625-3363


Department of English

Faculty

Name Addresses Phone Interests

Elaine Auyoung

Assistant Professor

eauyoung@umn.edu
50B Lind
612-624-7803 19th c British lit and culture; the novel; fictionality; cognition and the arts

Charles Baxter

Edelstein-Keller Professor in Creative Writing

baxt087@umn.edu
255 Lind
612-625-3744 creative writing: fiction; modernism; contemporary fiction; American literature
Timothy Brennan
Professor
brenn032@umn.edu
204 Nicholson
612-626-1638 continental literary and cultural theory; 19th-20th c comparative literature
Tony C. Brown
Associate Professor

tcbrown@umn.edu

235C Nicholson

612-626-6123 long 18th c; colonial and postcolonial; literary and aesthetic theory

Peter Campion

Associate Professor

pcampion@umn.edu

14 Lind

612-625-3503 creative writing: poetry; poetry and the visual arts; prosody
Tom Clayton
Regents Professor
tsc@umn.edu
360 Nicholson Hall
612-625-3371 17th c; Shakespeare; drama; classical civilization and studies
Siobhan Craig
Associate Professor
craig026@umn.edu
50H Lind
612-625-6087 Italian and German cinema; literary, cultural, film, feminist, and queer theory
Lois Cucullu
Associate Professor
lcucullu@umn.edu
18 Lind
612-625-7508 20th c lit; Victorian culture; novel studies; modernism; gender theory; pop culture
Andrew Elfenbein
Professor
elfen001@umn.edu
210A Lind
612-624-1373 British lit and history, 1700 - 1900; reading and cognition; queer theory; linguistics
Lianna Farber
Associate Professor
farbe004@umn.edu
210K Lind
612-626-7126 Medieval literature and thought
M. J. Fitzgerald
Associate Professor
fitzg007@umn.edu
13 Lind
612-625-0183 creative writing: fiction; Dante Alighieri; British literature; world literatures
Shirley Garner
Professor
sngarner@umn.edu
330B Lind
612-625-1826 Renaissance literature; Shakespeare; feminist studies in literature
Brian Goldberg
Associate Professor
goldb016@umn.edu
210L Lind
612-626-7125 British romantic literature; restoration and 18th c literature; poetry
Ray Gonzalez
Professor
gonza049@umn.edu
330A Lind
612-625-0332 creative writing: poetry, creative nonfiction, fiction; U.S. Latino literature
David Haley
Professor
dbhaley@umn.edu
310C Lind
612-625–6615 history; literature and politics from 16th to 19th c; drama; Bible as literature
Patricia Hampl
Regents Professor
hampl@umn.edu
210M Lind
612-625-3546 creative writing: nonfiction, short fiction, and poetry; personal essay and memoir
Michael Hancher
Professor
mh@umn.edu
310B Lind
612-625-5075 Victorian studies; book history; lexicography; digital humanities
Gordon Hirsch
Professor
hirsc002@umn.edu
310A Lind
612-625-6880 Victorian literature; the novel; psychological approaches to literature
Qadri Ismail
Associate Professor
ismai004@umn.edu
19 Lind
612-625-6374 cultural studies; postcolonial literature; literary theory; gender/sexuality
Rebecca Krug
Associate Professor
krugx001@umn.edu
210E Lind
612-626-7127 late Medieval literature; religion; culture; literacy; nature; women's studies
Josephine Lee
Professor
jolee@umn.edu
310D Lind
612-625-9510 dramatic literature, theater history, performance studies; Asian American studies
Nabil Matar
Professor
matar010@umn.edu
330C Lind
612-626-8320 early modern Euro-Islamic contacts; 17th c British religious literature
Ellen Messer-Davidow
Professor
emd@umn.edu
207C Lind
612-625-2071 cultural and social theory; 20th c American social movements, policy, and law
Dan Philippon
Associate Professor
danp@umn.edu
21 Lind
612-624-4209 environmental literature, history, and ethics; ideas of nature, culture, and place
Paula Rabinowitz
Professor
rabin001@umn.edu
225A Lind
612-625-2063 20th c American lit and film, visual culture, fashion studies, literary radicalism
Jani Scandura
Associate Professor
jani@umn.edu
210D Lind
612-625-9017 cultural studies and critical theory; 20th c N. American literatures, film, mass culture
Andrew Scheil
Associate Professor
ascheil@umn.edu
310E Lind
612-625-9518 Anglo-Saxon language and literature; literatures of late antiquity / early Middle Ages
Katherine Scheil
Professor
kscheil@umn.edu
210H Lind
612-625-6592 Shakespeare; early modern lit; theatre; women writers; history of reading; 18th c lit
Julie Schumacher
Professor
schum003@umn.edu
15 Lind
612-625-3459 creative writing: fiction; contemporary fiction; children's literature
Geoffrey Sirc
Professor
sirc@umn.edu
210J Lind
612-625-0134 composition theory and pedagogy; technology and writing; hip hop
Madelon Sprengnether
Regents Professor
spren001@umn.edu
336 Lind
612-625-8314 creative writing: poetry and nonfiction; Freud; feminist psychoanalytic criticism
Charlie Sugnet
Associate Professor
sugnet@umn.edu
310F Lind
612-625-1528 postcolonial literature; fiction and film of the African diaspora; creative nonfiction

Kim Todd

Assistant Professor

kftodd@umn.edu

20 Lind

612-625-6095 creative writing (literary nonfiction); science and environmental writing
John Watkins
Professor
watki005@umn.edu
312 Lind
612-624-8879 historiography; sovereignty and queenship; medieval and early modern diplomacy
John Wright
Professor
wrigh003@umn.edu
883 Social Sciences
612-624-0845 American and Afro-American literature; intellectual history and popular culture

Amit Yahav

Assistant Professor

ayahav@umn.edu

50A Lind

612-626-7124 18th century, the novel, aesthetics, theory